Runaway Brother - New Pocket Pre-Order TE175


- This is a Pre-Order and is expected to ship around the release date of 2/16/18.
- All physical purchases come with free digital downloads.
- Digital downloads will be available at midnight of the release date or sooner.
- If you combine Pre-Orders with other items, your entire order will be held until the Pre-Order item is ready to ship.
- Make two separate orders if there are other items that you wish to have shipped immediately.

“Outsider guitar pop” outfit Runaway Brother is smarter than your typical punk fare, too catchy for emo purists and not quite cool enough for the indie elite. Of course, that’s precisely why we love the Cleveland, OH quartet’s spiraling, ever-shifting songs and captivatingly ambitious arrangements. Much like its critically-acclaimed 2015 debut full-length, Mother, New Pocket’s impeccable melodies, soaring harmonies and all-around killer writing chops are on full display. However, the twelve tracks on Runaway Brother’s second LP have been given ample room to percolate and evolve organically as the band has spent the past few years experimenting, tweaking and ultimately refining its singular brand of unclassifiable pop music.

Recorded with Eric Cronstein (Delay, Saintseneca, The Sidekicks), New Pocket has all the trappings of a group that is supremely comfortable and confident in its craft. Dynamic mood shifts and playful, eccentric songwriting act as tentpoles for Runaway Brother but never weigh down the band’s seamless delivery or the record’s fluidity and knack for engaging the audience. It’s a true testament to Runaway Brother’s widening repertoire. Where Mother was more about inspiration pulled from the outside, New Pocket pulls from within. Lead singer Jacob Lee explains “It’s about the little anecdotes you have with the people that mean something to you. Some pants just need a new pocket, a little extra space to carry life’s weight.”

Track Listing

  1. Apply Care Directly
  2. Conscience In Tumult
  3. Paws
  4. Canopy Eyes
  5. Bully
  6. No Fuzz
  7. Cats In The Sun
  8. Kissing
  9. Pillow
  10. Obscured By Light
  11. All Saints Day
  12. Stolen

Pressing Information

First Pressing (Vinyl):
200 Opaque Purple & Black Split
300 Opaque Yellow & Opaque Red Mix

First Pressing (Cassettes):
50 Goldenrod
100 Black
150 Purple

More in 2018 Releases View All