Club Night - What Life TE190


Club Night is drummer Josiah Majetich, bassist Devin Trainer, guitarist Ian Tatum, and guitarist/vocalist Josh Bertram. They formed in Oakland in 2016 and first gained attention with the release of their EP Hell Ya, a five-track array of rainbow-colored songs that evoked the mad eccentricity and creativity of early-aught indie bands. The members are all veterans of the Oakland indie rock scene, each bringing a distinct flavor to the group.

This project is a direct reflection of the group’s disparate influences coming together in one space. Club Night perfect this experimentation on their beguiling debut album, What Life. The record boldly breathes compassion into the world through its fearless and profoundly unique musical offerings. The songs are jagged compendiums of contrasting moments—collections of sounds that refract and bend off each other before melding into one. Every song on What Life feels like a labyrinthine creation, running fearlessly from one sound to next, starting at times as downtempo bar ballads before bending into runaway math rock songs and culminating in anthemic blends of white noise, bellowing drums and triumphant vocals.

Throughout the album a theme of hope unfolds as the realization that once having found an honest sense of belonging in your community, you can finally be able to thrive without fear of shame. What Life pries into the fragile psyche of outsiders, but it's not an ode to defeatism. Existing is a struggle and Club Night will keep fighting—not with fists but with the connective power of empathy. (bio by Will Reisman)

Track Listing

  1. Path
  2. Cough
  3. Mute
  4. Cherry
  5. Trance
  6. Wit
  7. Village
  8. Thousands

Pressing Information

First Pressing (Vinyl):
200 Coke Bottle Clear & Opaque Pink Split (mailorder exclusive)
300 Opaque Pink w/ Black Smoke

First Pressing (Cassettes):
50 Smoky Tint (band exclusive)
75 Clear w/ Black Liner
100 Gray Tint w/ Clear Liner

More in 12-Inch Vinyl View All